“On the surface, everything seems fine. I’ve got this great guy. And he loves my kid. And he sure does like me a lot. And I can’t live like that. It’s not the way I’m built.” – Jerry Maguire


The words of encouragement have been endless.  The texts, emails, calls continue.  All saying the same thing: that I will find happiness, that I deserve more than I’ve been handed, that I am strong.  What a bunch of bull.

Not that it’s not true, people get through much tougher things than this everyday – it just seems unfathomable.

With the divorce rate above 50%, and one in five Catholic engagements being broken off (I’ve spent WAY too much time on my new laptop), how do people get through this? On a level of 1-10, with one being ‘Ow, my heart, that’s going to leave a mark’ and ten being ‘Can this butter knife do the job,’  I’ll leave my number to myself.  But let’s just say I was an ‘A’ student, hell-bent on getting the highest mark in the class.

So, how DO people get through this?  I keep hearing the answers “through family, friends, time.”  Ugh, time.  Time is a four letter word.  There is nothing worse than time right now.  I know I’m going to want more of it on my deathbed, but right now, I’m willing to sell mine on ebay.

And not only how do people get through pain, but why isn’t the anguish of a relationship ending a universal phenomenon?  Why are there people who find the right love right away, get married without cold feet, and mutually can’t wait to get on with their blissful lives?  And why do others experience the most pain possible – through the deaths of loved ones due to war, accidents, sickness….I know that life isn’t fair, but where is there some semblance of balance?

Since I’ve been horizontal this past week, I’ve been doing some over-thinking about this lovely (read: agonizing, horrible, no-good) thing called Love, and how it’s so easily taken for granted.  When will people realize that it’s not simply a feeling, that more than anything, it’s a choice.  The idea of love being all meadows and butterflies lets you know that you’ve found someone interesting – but it’s what you do after that feeling passes that makes it love.  it’s a conscious choice.  And people seem to too often choose the opposite.

On that light note, I leave you, my dear seven readers.  Eagerly anticipating my next uplifting monologue.  I’m off to be plied with food and wine, courtesy of the parental unit.


2 thoughts on ““On the surface, everything seems fine. I’ve got this great guy. And he loves my kid. And he sure does like me a lot. And I can’t live like that. It’s not the way I’m built.” – Jerry Maguire

  1. You have 8 readers. When you said on FB you were at a loss I thought because Alexander McQueen killed himself and I almost criticized you! Glad I didn’t!

Leave a Reply

