Things I Know for Sure.


After all that rain these past few days, we are being blessed with sun today.  As I sit in a beach chair on my patio, I realize that once my patio furniture arrives, this nook is going to be where I entertain, where I begin my day with a cup of coffee and the Times, and end it with company and a glass of wine. This is what I am grateful for today – my own slice of divine quiet in this tumultuous city.

I’ve made some plans.  My calendar is full of trips and my free airline miles are  diminishing.  Chicago, San Francisco twice, Boston, Scottsdale, with a side of Tuscany.  I’ve managed to find several marathon and half marathons in California that will allow me to finally see Big Sur, run across the Bay Bridge, and revisit the Silverado Trail.  The Boston Marathon is in my sights. I’m throwing myself into running and yoga, as the endorphins are becoming addictive.  I walk a road everyday with nowhere to go…and I’ve determined that running one with a cheering finish line is a much better way to live.

As my options are wide open, I’m doing a lot of work on me.  I’m researching career paths that may bring me across the United States, and trading in a fifty story building for a winery doesn’t sound half bad.

It’s been said that “When New Yorkers leave the city, it’s probably the first time in their lives they say “it’s not you, it’s me” and truly mean it.”   There’s much to tackle and finish up these next few months, but knowing that a broken road may one day lead me down a straight path is enough to hope for.  If you insist that it’s hard and that you’re lonely, you’ll find that it is, and that you are.  Sometimes you do all the right things and life still doesn’t treat you fairly.  But today I’m getting on a plane and taking a break from all of that.

There are a few things in life that I know for sure:

  1. If you don’t have the courage to love someone fully, you end up drinking alone.
  2. I’m a PC, and Windows 7 was my idea.
  3. Red wine is my friend, and Guiness is a second cousin.
  4. The way out is through the door.
  5. There will never be anyone as cool as Cary Grant.
  6. Things happen to us, but it is our reactions that matter.
  7. You need three essential things to marry someone.  It’s up to you to determine what those three things are.  You look for more than that, you’ll stay single a long time.
  8. If people put up walls around themselves, there is no ax large enough.
  9. There is no better Bond than Daniel Craig.
  10. Hurt people hurt people.  You don’t stand a chance.

Those are my brief words of wisdom for the evening.  Ponder all of this as you eat your Cadbury eggs.

One thought on “Things I Know for Sure.

  1. I whole-heartedly agree with number 9 (even though I’ve never seen any of the other ones). I don’t need to. Daniel Craig rocks my world.

Leave a Reply

