San Francisco. Plain and simple.


So I know I’ve been talking about it.  But there hasn’t been a lot of doing.  Well, hold onto your hats, because there is about to be.  Yes, I’ve been researching jobs in San Francisco for years.  Yes, I’ve been talking about moving there.  I have more bookmarks for realtors, winejobs.com positions that I have saved (jobs that have since expired), and used cars picked out.  Even West Coast Golden Retriever rescues for when I immediately get my dog upon arrival.  I’ve been a bit ahead of myself.  So time to remedy that.

During the last four days of planes, trains, and automobiles, I have had a lot to think about (and many West Wing episodes to view).  I’ve decided to stop talking…and start doing.  I met a gal a few weeks ago who happens to have a familial connection to a Napa winery that needs help expanding into the marketplace …and then coincidentally saw her again the other night in P.J. Clarke’s.  We realized the kismet in this, and I look forward to pursuing that connection, along with several other exciting ones I have found.

I have heard that when new challenges and opportunities show up in our lives, we may think that we feel scared when what we really feel is excited.

Nope.  I’m actually scared out of my mind.  Petrified, shaking in my boots, terror-stricken, and otherwise paralyzed with fear.  And it feels fantastic.  I’m as brave as they come.  I know this now.

Most assume that courageous people are fearless, but the truth is that they are simply more comfortable with fear because they face it on a regular basis. The more we dive in headfirst, the more excitement and less anxiety we feel.  Instead of backing off, we should sprint ahead.  Instead of stumbling, we should climb.  Each time we do this, it becomes easier…we learn to trust ourselves, our decisions, and we don’t question the thoughts running through our head.  That is how we know what we’re doing is right for us…no second-guessing.  Complete faith in ourselves and the Universe.  This opportunity has come our way because we are meant to take it.

I am excited to have the opportunity to do something I have never done before.  As we do this, we will feel our energy shift from fear to excitement, from paralyzation to empowerment. Only then can we move forward, grow, learn.

I’ve reached 10,000 views on my blog today.  So to all of you who have been wishing me well, have supported me, and think about me daily…words cannot express…and I always have something to say.  But now, today…I am speechless.  I have nothing but gratitude.

Now put all your positive, well-wishing energies behind me on this West Coast search.  Can’t you just see me with my black Jeep Wrangler, my retriever sitting in the passenger seat, heading to Napa for a day at work?  Yeah, I can too.

5 thoughts on “San Francisco. Plain and simple.

  1. One of my fundamental beliefs is that the Universe rewards great leaps of faith. It’s unbelievably scary to take that leap but the end results are so, so worth it!

    As the quote from Risky Business says, “Joel, you wanna know something? Every now and then say, “What the fuck.” “What the fuck” gives you freedom. Freedom brings opportunity. Opportunity makes your future. ”

    Go, try and see what happens. The only risk is not taking a risk. If it works – amazing. If it doesn’t, that’s okay too. We only live and learn by doing things, not by talking about them.

    And I’ll be first in line to come visit you, take a ride in the jeep, drink some wine in Napa and romp with your golden retriever 🙂

  2. Good for you! BTW, Aimee + I know a girl who now runs a major chateau in Bordeaux. She’s from Boston, went to Northwestern for business school, and now is the Proprietor of Chateau Coutet, 1er Cru Sauternes-Barsac (she’d interned @ Baron Philippe de Rothschild SA… her uncle owns the vineyard). Someone for you to meet/talk wine with?

  3. “A man who can most truly be considered brave, is he who best knows what is sweet in life, and what is terrible; and still goes out, undeterred, to meet what is to come.” Pericles 🙂

  4. not sure how much firmer SF is for you, but just came across your blog because of your post on the bioethicist-wunderkind (i monitor media for a bioethics institute in baltimore) … but reading a little more of your blog reminded me of mine, which i just retired w/ a post that seemed a fitting ending for this SF Bay Area native’s odyssey to the East Coast …

    the bay is beautiful in many ways, and i miss it … can certainly give you tips. but the engagement that my job now offers made coming out here worth it as well:

    http://mvpena.wordpress.com/about/

    good luck!

Leave a Reply

