One Thing…


I’ve done a lot of writing, especially in this forum, about the quest to find my purpose.  I’d like to think that my calling in life does not simply revolve around promoting cable television shows (albeit good ones), but that there is deeper meaning somewhere else.

I’m often reminded of that scene in City Slickers where Billy Crystal’s character, Mitch, equates his job selling radio advertising to selling air.  On my mission to finding my passion, I have taken every Jungian personality quiz, every Myers-Briggs test, every “who are you, really?” questionnaire available.  I found that I am an ENFJ (Extraverted Intuitive Feeling Judging) –  a Teacher with excellent people skills whose talent is to make others grow simply because of my belief in them.  Well, that sounds important, why don’t I do that?

Today, my dad sent an article about prisoner rehabilitation through equine therapy.  In short, how mutually beneficial it is to have a program in which prisoners are given a horse to be responsible for– the horses are cared for and the prisoners given a sense of renewed possibility and importance.  I had heard about this a few times over the years, but I think that today, in that cozy, all too familiar “what am I doing with my life” place, I not only donated, but I felt the urge to send the CEO of the Thoroughbred Retirement Fund a personal email, asking him for advice on finding your purpose, following your passions, and making a difference.  I can never be accused of doing anything half-ass.  Sigh.

So now I sit, a tad embarrassed that I just told an unknown man in Kentucky my story about my uncertain path in life.  But what’s the worst that can happen…he doesn’t email back?  I’m uncannily used to rejection as of late.  Do your worst, Mr. Taylor.

Luckily, I actually know what I’m passionate about… I’m just uncertain how to make those things a lucrative career that will keep me from living in a cardboard box and sifting through trash.

Maybe we can all take a lesson from Curly and adhere to the secret of life.  Our ‘one thing’ is different for everyone, and sometimes we don’t find it until late in life.  Sometimes it’s never found, or at least when it is, it’s misunderstood, it’s pushed away because it’s not the right time, or some other lame excuse.  How fortunate those are who know their ‘one thing.’  But even more fortunate are those that decide to act on it.

One thought on “One Thing…

  1. You are on the Road. Maybe with a dog maybe not. I was into my 30’s before my skin truly fit me; it was itchy and scarey all along and then I began to get it.
    Here’s what I know:
    Breathe
    Feel
    Press the pause button between the brain and the app that enables you to express/show/publish to others how you feel about them. Birth is so raw and often bloody.
    Breathe and identify the scents that hit your olfactory glands.
    Breathe and celebrate that you can.

Leave a Reply

