Big things are coming…


2010 was a heck of a time…in fact, let’s forget it ever happened.

I don’t want to remember the size of the health care bill…that Hurt Locker won Best Picture over Avatar…soaring unemployment rates….learning more about Tiger’s sex life that one ever should know (I can never look at Denny’s the same way again)…seeing Brett Favre’s um, pigskin, on a cellphone…. Al Gore’s divorce, Larry’s King’s affair with his sister-in-law, Hugh Hefner’s engagement… Lindsay Vohn in general…the Kardashians doing anything at all…tweeting…Arizona…the repulsion that is John Edwards….the constant fear that my flight attendant is going to grab two beers and pull the slide…Chilean miners…the Muslim “Community Center”…Sarah Palin’s reality show…Bristol Palin’s reality show….Todd Palin’s reality show…Joe Paterno’s need to slowly kill me (and the Penn State football program)…”there’s an app for that”…Justin Bieber…Twi-hards…Miley Cyrus doing anything at all…the NBC late night embarrassment…the world’s fascination with Lebron James….the words ‘feet’ and ‘Rex Ryan’ in the same sentence….vuvuzelas…that stupid World Cup fortune-telling octopus…the death of Michael Jackson…Double Rainbow….Joaquin Phoenix acting like a deranged lunatic….

Somewhere John Boehner is crying….

Actually….now that I think about it…all this crazy makes me realize…I’m doing just fine, folks.  I may actually just be….dare I say, perfectly normal. And despite all of the above, and all that I have been through this year, it’s nice to say I wouldn’t take any of it back.  It got me here, and here is pretty darn good.  Who knows what 2011 will bring?  All that I know is…I can handle it.

As the poet Edith Lovejoy Pierce wrote,

“We will open the book.

Its pages are blank.

We are going to put words on them ourselves.

The book is called “Opportunity”

and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.”

 

May your 2011 be full of new beginnings and fresh starts.  Big things are coming.  I just have a feeling.

 

One thought on “Big things are coming…

Leave a Reply

