Mutual weirdness…


Today I was filling out a form in which I was asked my marital status.  Never a difficult question to answer, as I’ve been checking that same first box for three decades.  But what really amazed me are the different variations of responses that this question now has:

Single

Married

Widowed

Divorced

Separated

Living Together

Partner

It seems as though we no longer need to fit into the mold that was once so commonplace.  There are times in my life in which another box fit, only to go back to my steady “single” box, the one that is steadfast, strong and always present, unlike many of my previous relationships.

And while I look forward to the day when I get to check box #2, I’m very happy that my friends have found a way to do so.   Since I was eighteen, I have been attending weddings of friends my age. That’s fifteen years to watching my friends make incredible, difficult, profound vows to love, honor and cherish for the rest of their lives.  It’s such an important thing to witness and believe in, when the girls and boys, now men and women, open their hearts right in front of you and then toast it with a glass of bubbles.  I look forward to not only giving, but receiving, that same covenant of promise and love….swearing that the tough days, the imperfections, and the trials will be met with the same endurance and unconditional love that brought us to the altar in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Mutual weirdness…

  1. love this. when it happens, it’s the easiest thing in the world. that’s the part that i was most surprised by. not a lot of drama… it all just falls into place because it’s what was meant to be. fate is a powerful force that you can’t control but you can embrace.

  2. Happiness: That indescribably wonderful incredible feeling of fulfillment, within, that swells up from the heart when we are connected to the power of our breath with a feeling of appreciation and gratitude for the life that we have been given. More commonly known as love. With that feeling, everything is right with the world and our soul is in peace.

Leave a Reply

