Thank you, Tina Fey….


I have recently found myself reading too many serious books, and on the way to work I listen to the audio version of the NY Times, not the most humorous and light way to start the day.  Which is why I’ve picked up Bossypants for the third time, on audiobook and read by Tina Fey herself.  She plays my favorite character on television, Liz Lemon, and is pure comic genius, yet strangely familiar at the same time.  Yes, I make up my own words, adore sandwiches, and was often told I resembled Sarah Palin.  But having anything in common with Tina Fey makes me happy, even if it is our love of cheese. As I listen to her book, traveling the 30 minutes home flies by and I am that girl, laughing out loud on the bus.  Below is my favorite chapter – imagine her wit and sarcasm elevating the words off the page.  Or even better, pick it up yourself if you’re feeling down and in need of a laugh.  Take my word for it.

The Mother’s Prayer for Its Daughter

First, Lord: No tattoos. May neither Chinese symbol for truth nor Winnie-the-Pooh holding the FSU logo stain her tender haunches.

May she be Beautiful but not Damaged, for it’s the Damage that draws the creepy soccer coach’s eye, not the Beauty.

Leave a Reply

