Never alone.


“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.”

Audrey Hepburn

 Image

 

Everyday, I see the same two women, a mother and daughter in my neighborhood.  Each day, the daughter visits her aging mother at the local nursing home near by my apartment.  The daughter is in her 70s, bleached, flashy, and fashion-forward, with a different pair of spectacular stilletto boots daily whose very heights mock my clumsiness. She strolls with her mother at a snail’s pace around my neighborhood, holding her arm and speaking….Polish, Russian?  I don’t know, but it’s clipping, rolling, beautiful.

 

I believe that this mother, well into her 90s, looks forward everyday to her daughter’s arrival. As I walk down my street, I see them on a bench both reading books before their walk.  After they walk, they return to the bench and talk with the neighbors, all in their own tongues. They always stop speaking as I walk by, and I imagine they talk about the fact that my bangs are getting too long, that I’m always texting, and that I’m wearing those jeans…again.  Little do they know how often I think of them, and see their love for each other.

 

This daughter’s consistency and loyalty amazes me.  How many of us can say that we are the constant in someone’s life? There, daily, present. Because of their advanced years, I do not know if either is married, but they have each other.  A different definition of having someone to grow old with. 

Leave a Reply

