Things My Brain Is Thinking About When No One is Looking – Part IX


  • Why do websites consistently default my birthday year to being in the 1980s? Screw you, little man inside my computer.
  • On that note, filling out surveys and forms and no longer being a part of the 18-34 culture anymore is jarring.   Nothing cool is marketed to me anymore.  What are 35-49 year olds supposed to like? No cool shows on cable, no fashion on the runways.  I’m washed up.
  • Yesterday, I bawled my eyes out watching a Janet Jackson movie.  I’m an emotional person in touch with my feelings…but seriously….
  • I’ve started unfriending people on Facebook.  If you’re reading this, it’s likely you made the first-round cut.  Cheers.  Why start backing off from my 500 Facebook friends? I believe you are as good as the five closest friends you keep. So I’m cutting some of the slack.  Not because I don’t like you.  But because I don’t take the word “friend” lightly.
  • We create our own “luck.” I’m not saying that there’s no such thing as fate, but I believe that choice is far more powerful than chance in determining the meaning behind our failures and successes.
  • I’ve always been an Anglophile, but I’m watching a lot of BBC and Miss Marple lately.  Now I’m too afraid to visit the English countryside because the chance of getting murdered there seems to increase exponentially. I’m now convinced that more people die in the Cotswolds than on Skid Row.  Thanks, Agatha Christie.

Miss-Marple-006

  • But I am going to start using old British phrases like “You’re looking at me like I have bats in the belfry” and “Bob’s your uncle.” Although I’m confused why “bollocks” means “shit,” but “dog’s bollocks” means “great.”  My email is eileenburke00@gmail.com if you know, I’m really curious.
  • I overheard the following phone conversation at SFO the other day.  It’s still making me think: “Well just get the gun and shoot him.  It’s in the drawer of the nightstand.”  Uhhhhhmm, what?
  • I used to believe in soul mates, in “The One.” And now I think  “The One” is “The One” because you say they are. That’s really all it takes.  Just faith.
Leave a Reply

